Teach to Educate

A few thoughts from the MCS Instruction Department

Useless Trivia…But Intriguing.

on May 23, 2014

I know!  I know!  I’ve missed posting okay?  It’s been busy!  You read Dr. Gilbert’s email…that was truly amazing…all the things WE ALL HAVE ACCOMPLISHED.

I just think this is super cool.  (Please don’t tell me if this is old news.  Let me think I’ve found something new.)  Have you ever noticed the A113 in the Disney Movies?  Monster’s Inc, Cars, Finding Nemo, UP, A Bug’s Life…In the movies, they “hide” A113.  I NEVER noticed it.  Here’s the reason why:

“A113 is a classroom number at the California Institute of Arts, which is where most professional animators who work at the big studios studied their craft.  The alumni try to include the code in their work as a subtle wink to their former classmates.”

How cool is that!!!

Chris Van Allsburg (my FAVORITE children’s author) hides something in his books.  Ever noticed the dog? And the Pigeon…hidden in Mo Willems’ books?

Signatures.  Be creative and teach your students to be, too.

 


2 responses to “Useless Trivia…But Intriguing.

  1. Norah says:

    I didn’t know about the A113. I’ll have to look out for it. I have seen the pigeon in Mo Willems books – very cute; but not the dog. Thanks for alerting me to these.

  2. Teresa Rotella says:

    I didn’t know about the A113 code either…but students love to try to find the hidden pictures in Caralyn Buehner’s book Snowmen at Night and Snowmen at Work. Thanks for the info. That’s very interesting. I’ll be on the lookout.

Leave a comment