Teach to Educate

A few thoughts from the MCS Instruction Department

Pre-Assessments & Differentiation

on April 16, 2015

The idea can be overwhelming.  I was doing some research on differentiation…looking for ways to make the idea “approachable,” and I came across this from a website you really should explore.

http://www.byrdseed.com/six-traits-of-quality-pre-assessments/

One of my favorite things to do is synthesize information and figure out an easier way to look at the combination of ideas.  We know we need to improve differentiation for students.  We know we need to pre-assess.  We know.  We know.  We KNOW!  But why don’t we do it more?  We need all these things we KNOW to be combined in a way that we feel like we CAN DO them.  That’s where my brain has been swirling over the last month.  I’m determined to feel like I can tackle this and teach it.  One thing that might help us is to look at using KUDo’s instead of “I Can” statements.  By spending a little more time on the learning objectives, the differentiation and preassessment pieces seem a little more feasible.  Check out what this man has to say…LOVE the idea of adding “some, most, all” to the learning objective.

http://dougbelshaw.com/blog/2009/10/23/learning-objectives-the-basics/

I learned about KUDo’s through a book by Diane Heacox.  (Making Differentiation a Habit:  How to Ensure Success in Academically Diverse Classrooms) 

What do you want the students to KNOW?  What do you want the students to UNDERSTAND?  What do you want the students to be able to DO?

Synthesize these ideas…where do the words ALL, SOME, MOST belong in the KUDo’s?  Maybe they already know it (preassess).  So now what?.  Don’t forget to consider higher order thinking such as Revised Bloom’s when you begin to plan your lessons and the applications.  Nice synthesis, don’t you think?

Yes, there’s much more work to be done.  I’m still researching, but I liked these ideas and wanted to share.

Okay…so now a favor.  I’m not sure how many teachers know about the blog.  Share the link with someone.  If you haven’t signed up to receive alerts when a new post is added, consider signing up.


Leave a comment